If you are a visitor in California over 18 years old and have a valid driver license from your home country, you may drive in this state without getting a California driver license as long as your home country license remains valid. After that, you must obtain a California Driver´s License.
To obtain a California driver´s license, you must first make an appointment with the California Department of Motor Vehicles and bring the following documents with you when going to DMV.
» SEVIS I-20
» Valid passport
» I-94 card
» F-1 or F-2 visa
» Social Security Card
(If the DMV insists you to show the social security card, go to the Social Security Administration Office and request a denial letter, 676-SSAL, then bring it back to DMV)
All students who own a car must carry car insurance. Keep a copy of your vehicle registration and car insurance in the car's glove compartment. Beginning 1997, the law requires that drivers provide proof of insurance upon demand of a police officer. Otherwise, a penalty of $1,350 (minimum) will be charged.